Weather Observations

About Us

The Director General of Meteorology is the Head of the India Meteorological Department, with headquarters at New Delhi. For convenience of administration and technical control, there are 6 Regional Meteorological Centers, each under a Deputy Director General of Meteorology with headquarters at Mumbai, Chennai, New Delhi, Kolkata, Nagpur and Guwahati. Under the administrative control of Deputy Director General, there are Meteorological Centers at state capitals. Meteorological Centre, Agartala comes under the control of Regional Meteorological Centers, Guwahati.

Meteorological Centre, Agartala is situated in the West District of Tripura. It is located at Latitude 23 55’ N, Longitude 91 15’ E and at a height of 15 meters above mean sea level. It was established on 05th April 1951. The centre has received ISO 9001:2008 certification ISO-Certificate for its Weather observation system, Meteorological forecasting system service, Met. information system service, Aviation weather forecasting services, Agriculture weather forecasting services, Doppler weather Radar observation and Inspection of observatories.

The centre provides weather observation and forecasting services for the state of Tripura. The centre is also responsible for providing Aviation Meteorological services for Agartala Airport, 7 days city weather forecast for Agartala and Kailashahar, Agromet services for State Agricultural Department, Nowcast (3 hours thunderstorm forecast) for major cities and tourist places in Tripura and adjoining states of Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Meghalaya. For the aid in Nowcasting, it has an S-band Doppler Weather Radar whose images are available on its website for general public. The Aerodrome Meteorological Office (AMO) Agartala provides aviation forecasting services for its own as well as for Aeronautical Meteorological Station (AMS) Lengpui (Mizoram).It also has a Seismological observatory for automatic recording and transmission of Earthquake data.