Weather Observations

Organizational Structure

The Director General of Meteorology is the Head of India Meteorological Department with its headquarters at New Delhi. For convenience of Administrative and Technical control there are 6 Regional Meteorological centres each with headquarters at Mumbai, Chennai, New Delhi, Kolkota, Guwahati and Nagpur. Under the administrative control of Regional Meteorological centre there are different types of operational units such as Meteorological Centres at each State capital. Meteorological Centre, Panaji, Goa is under Regional Meteorological Centre, Mumbai.

This station is equipped with the following units/ Sections:

  • Forecasting section with the 24X7 operations issuing short, Medium and extended range weather forecast and weather related warnings.
  • Doppler Weather Radar for detecting cyclones and other severe weather phenomena.
  • RS/RW (G.P.S Sonde) section .
  • Surface section With 08 surface observations round the clock.
  • Radiation section with manual and Automatic Radiation Station (ARS).
  • Seismic RTSMN is installed in the unit which records real time Seismic data. The data is automatically transmitted to H.Q. through satellite.
  • PMO- Surface observatory at Mormugao records only 03, 06 Z surface observations daily. All autographic surface instruments are also installed there.
  • PMLO- IVOF and other Ships including foreign ships are visited for calibration of Barometer and other met instruments.
  • Out post Rainguage stations Mapusa, Pernem, Valpoi, Ponda, Margao,Canacona, Qupem and Sanguem.
  • AWS (Automatic Weather Stations) are installed at Panaji ; Ela (Old Goa) and Mormugao.
  • ARG (Automatic Rainguage Stations) are installed at Mapusa, Old Goa (ICAR), Pernem & Valpoi in North Goa and Canacona in South Goa.