Weather Observations

About Us

The old observatory was started in Hyderabad on 10th November 1891,in the Nizamiah observatory building located on the top of the ridge. Later it was shifted to old Begumpet airport in 1926. The observatory was upgraded as Meteorological Centre in 1973 to extend meteorological services to state.

METEOROLOGICAL CENTRE,HYDERABAD maintains 29 surface observatories (17 departmental and 12 part-time),4 pilot balloon observatories,3 Radiosonde/Rawin observatories,5 Agricultural observatories,35 Automatic Weather Stations, 64 Automatic Rain Gauges and 460 Rain Gauge stations managed by State Govts.