Press Release 05.03.2024: Mainly dry weather over most parts of the country during next 5 days except over Western Himalayan region, where isolated to scattered light/moderate rainfall/snowfall likely during night of 05th-07th March, 2024.

Outlook for the Seasonal Temperatures During the Hot Weather Season (March to May) and Monthly Rainfall and Temperatures During March: 2024

प्रेस विज्ञप्ति: ग्रीष्म ऋतु (मार्च से मई) के दौरान ऋतुनिष्ठ तापमान और मार्च 2024 के दौरान मासिक वर्षा और तापमान के लि

Current Weather Status and Extended range Forecast for next two weeks (29 Feb-13 March)

Press Release 22-02-2024: Inauguration of Doppler Weather Radar (DWR) at Lansdowne, Uttarakhand

भारत मौसम विज्ञान विभाग का विकास

Evolution of India Meteorological Department

प्रेस विज्ञप्ति: शीतकालीन मौसम (दिसंबर 2023 - फरवरी 2024) के लिए तापमान का दृष्टिकोण और दिसंबर 2023 के दौरान वर्षा और तापमान

Press Release: Outlook for the Temperatures during Winter Season(Dec. 2023- Feb. 2024) and Forecast for the Rainfall and Tempeatures during December 2023

Hon'ble Minister MoES


Shri Kiren Rijiju

Personal Info:

Date of Birth: 19-Nov-1971

Present Affiliation:Union Cabinet Minister, Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES), 18 May 2023 onwards

Present Address: 9, K.M. Marg, New Delhi 110 011

Phone: (011) 23017965 (R), 23386974 (M)

Fax: (011) 23017957 (R), 23384241 (O)

Email: kr[dot]hmoes[at]gov[dot]in


B.A., LL.B.
Educated at Hansraj College, Delhi and Campus Law Centre, Faculty of Law, University of Delhi

Important Positions held:

Years Position held
18 May 2023 onwards Union Cabinet Minister, Ministry of Earth Sciences
7 July 2021 – 18 May 2023 Union Cabinet Minister, Ministry of Law and Justice
30 May 2019-7 July 2021 Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports; and Minister of State, Ministry of Minority Affairs
May 2019 Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
27 May 2014 - 25 May 2019 Union Minister of State, Home Affairs
May 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
5 Aug. 2007 Member, Standing Committee on Energy
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tribal Affairs & Development of North Eastern Region
Member, Standing Committee on Energy
2004 Elected to 14th Lok Sabha